Hometown Hero Corey Heim Makes a Violent Chase for Victory at Circuit of the Americas!

Townelaker Cobb County native Corey Heim showcased his racing prowess at the XPEL 225 NASCAR Truck Series race at the Circuit of The Americas road course in Austin, Texas, securing a decisive victory on Saturday afternoon. The Kennesaw Mountain High School graduate demonstrated exceptional skill and strategy, dominating the race and crossing the finish line 1.625 seconds ahead of his teammate Taylor Gray.

Heim’s impressive performance included leading a race-high 31 of 46 laps and triumphing in an overtime finish, marking his first win of 2024 and the sixth of his career. Heim, driving for ThorSport Racing, credited his success to meticulous preparation, stating, “Just prepared so hard for this race.”

Reflecting on his previous challenges at the same venue, he added, “I came into this race last year and struggled really. Finished sixth with a penalty and just all over the place. To put together a solid race like this is just so special and just shows you how good our trucks are back at the shop.”

The victory at Circuit of The Americas adds to Heim’s impressive record this season, where he has finished sixth or better in all five races. His consistency and determination have been key factors in his success, as he aims to build on last year’s achievements and contend for the championship title.

He expressed optimism for the remainder of the season, noting, “Super excited for the rest of the year, we’re just getting started and I think our best tracks are in front of us, so really can’t wait.” Heim’s stellar performance was not the only highlight of the race, as several other drivers showcased their talent and determination on the challenging road course.

Jack Hawksworth, a sportscar and IndyCar driver making his Truck Series debut, impressed with a sixth-place finish. Reigning series champions Ben Rhodes, Christian Eckes, Dean Thompson, and Tanner Gray rounded out the top 10, highlighting the depth of talent in the field.

Despite his young age, 17-year-old Connor Zilisch made a remarkable debut, starting from pole position and demonstrating skill and determination throughout the race. Zilisch, driving for Spire Motorsports, led the field early in the race but faced challenges, including a penalty for cutting the course. However, he and his team remained resilient, ultimately securing a top-five finish in his first race in NASCAR’s premier divisions.

The race also saw impressive performances from other drivers, with Nick Sanchez winning Stage 1 and Heim claiming Stage 2, marking their first stage victories of the year. The NASCAR CRAFTSMAN Truck Series will resume on April 5 with the Long John Silver’s 200 at Martinsville Speedway, where Heim will aim to defend his title as the defending winner.

Hometown Hero Corey Heim Makes a Violent Chase for Victory at Circuit of the Americas!

NASCAR CRAFTSMAN Truck Series Race – XPEL 225

Circuit of The Americas

Austin, Texas

Saturday, March 23, 2024

1. (2) Corey Heim, Toyota, 46.

2. (3) Taylor Gray, Toyota, 46.

3. (9) Ty Majeski, Ford, 46.

4. (1) Connor Zilisch, Chevrolet, 46.

5. (5) Ross Chastain(i), Chevrolet, 46.

6. (6) Jack Hawksworth, Toyota, 46.

7. (34) Ben Rhodes, Ford, 46.

8. (10) Christian Eckes, Chevrolet, 46.

9. (17) Dean Thompson, Toyota, 46.

10. (7) Tanner Gray, Toyota, 46.

11. (18) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 46.

12. (14) Grant Enfinger, Chevrolet, 46.

13. (22) Jack Wood, Chevrolet, 46.

14. (25) Jake Garcia, Ford, 46.

15. (11) Rajah Caruth, Chevrolet, 46.

16. (15) Bayley Currey, Chevrolet, 46.

17. (27) Timmy Hill, Toyota, 46.

18. (4) Nick Sanchez, Chevrolet, 46.

19. (19) Stefan Parsons, Chevrolet, 46.

20. (13) Stewart Friesen, Toyota, 46.

21. (29) Carter Fartuch, Ford, 46.

22. (16) Chase Purdy, Chevrolet, 46.

23. (21) Matt Crafton, Ford, 46.

24. (24) Matt Mills, Chevrolet, 46.

25. (12) Tyler Ankrum, Chevrolet, 46.

26. (33) Dale Quarterley, Toyota, 45.

27. (8) Layne Riggs #, Ford, 43.

28. (23) Daniel Dye, Chevrolet, 42.

29. (26) Bret Holmes, Chevrolet, 42.

30. (30) Spencer Boyd, Chevrolet, 42.

31. (28) Marco Andretti, Chevrolet, Suspension, 40.

32. (35) Thad Moffitt #, Chevrolet, 39.

33. (20) Lawless Alan, Ford, Rear Gear, 34.

34. (31) Vicente Salas, Chevrolet, Transmission, 33.

35. (32) Mason Massey, Chevrolet, Brakes, 32.

Average Speed of Race Winner: 69.492 mph.

Time of Race: 2 Hrs, 15 Mins, 26 Secs. The margin of Victory: 1.625 Seconds.

Caution Flags: 6 for 10 laps.

Lead Changes: 14 among 8 drivers.

Read More News:

Help the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office to Locate This Missing Individual.!

Driver Accused of Murder in Fatal High-Speed Collision in Peachtree Corners!

Police Charge Man with Murder After Shooting 23-Year-Old Gas Station Asker for Money!

Hometown Hero Corey Heim Makes a Violent Chase for Victory at Circuit of the Americas!

Lap Leaders: C. Zilisch 0;T. Gray 1-4;L. Riggs # 5;C. Heim 6-8;N. Sanchez 9-12;C. Eckes 13;C. Heim 14;J. Hawksworth 15;C. Heim 16-22;S. Friesen 23-24;C. Heim 25-27;T. Majeski 28;C. Heim 29-38;T. Majeski 39;C. Heim 40-46.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led): Corey Heim 6 times for 31 laps; Tanner Gray 1 time for 4 laps; Nick Sanchez 1 time for 4 laps; Stewart Friesen 1 time for 2 laps; Ty Majeski 2 times for 2 laps; Jack Hawksworth 1 time for 1 lap; Layne Riggs # 1 time for 1 lap; Christian Eckes 1 time for 1 lap.

Stage #1 Top Ten: 2,98,15,18,19,99,77,88,91,25

Stage #2 Top Ten: 11,98,1,99,17,7,71,18,5,88

Reference Article

Leave a Comment